Kassandra Boothby

Posted on December 2, 2021 by Categories:
  • July 26, 2017
Phone Number
Current Country
United Kingdom
Date of birth
Job Type
Groom, Head Groom, Yard Manager, Rider, Work Rider, Stable Lad / Lass, Housekeeper, Maintenance / Handy person, Secretarial / Administrative, Personal Assistant, Public Relations, Sales / Marketing
Type of yard looking to work on
Dressage, Showjumping, Eventing, Hunt, Livery, Riding School, Showing, Western, Stud, Dealer, Office, Other
Relevant qualifications
BHS Stage 1, NVQ, Other
Own your on horse
Do you have any pets
Accommodation required?
Upload your CV
I am looking for a

CV Headline

Kassandra Boothby

I am a hardworking individual who can adapt to any task asked of me. I can multi-task to a high level as I have previously been employed whilst also studying a college course. I have very good people skills and have a lot of experience in this sector. I am polite and will try and help as much as I can. I can work as an individual and as a team; in my previous employment on a show jumping yard I worked sole charge on the weekends and as head groom throughout the week. I am a very self-motivated person and I have a good work ethic.
I have a full clean driving license and a car. I am willing to undertake any future tests i.e. trailer test, HGV. I am looking to do my trailer test in the near future.
I have over 15+ years of equine experience although willing to learn and experience more. I can do general yard duties, prepare for competition both ridden and appearance, ride, school and jump all to an impeccable standard. I am confident with all types of horses; spooky, aggressive, unpredictable, young and green, both ridden and on the ground. I am capable of hacking, schooling, jumping (1 meter plus), competing, break/backing and re-schooling/bringing back into work; I do this all maturely and responsibly. I have previously been a Head Groom for the show jumping/Eventing yard and working sole charge at long periods of time is one of my strong points. I was chosen to ride for the college dressage and jumping team.
I also have experience in an office environment; therefore I can take on light office duties in a yard if required; I am a keen learner and I am a very organised individual therefore can adapt to any task asked of me.

I am willing to undertake any additional qualifications to match my experience as I have more experience than I do qualifications. I am a keen learner and I am always looking for ways to expand my theory knowledge.

Relevant experience

I started riding when I was 7 years old, quickly started competing on the county circuit. In this time I did donkey showing; riding, in-hand and driven at events such as Great Yorkshire, Newark and Nottingham County Show , Emley County Show etc. I also had a welsh pony in this time and drove her in pleasure drives. I moved onto horses at the age of 12, started show jumping and rode/drove other peoples horses/ponies. By the age of 14 I was rehabilitating minor problem horses whilst going to school and attending Riseholme college one day a week, gaining a Distinction* in Equine Management Level 2. I then attended Riseholme College for a further two years, still competing and handling a youngster at home. During my time at Riseholme, I was selected to ride for the inter-college dressage team and was a reserve rider for the show jumping team. We won the competition held at our college and was placed at every competition we attended I.e Brooksby College, Bishop Burton. I left college and started working in a show jumping/eventing yard with two riders as a weekend groom quickly gaining the responsibility of head groom. After a year, one of the two riders left therefore the yard downsized. I worked in an office for a while whilst competing and schooling others horses and my own. I then worked at a hunt yard for a season, hacking the horses for fitness and preparing them for a days hunting. I moved on to work on a stud yard; they had two Spanish stallions and sports broodmares. The stallions also competed in British Dressage regularly gaining qualifications for the regional finals. I got employed as a head groom/ part time yard manager therefore I was responsible for exercising all horses; stallions and youngsters. I broke in several 4 year olds in my time there and supervised the mares during foaling. We also gained some liveries, also being highly strung dressage horses ridden by Stephen Thompson. I had a team of grooms whilst at this facility therefore I am experienced in being in charge and manning a team. I then moved onto working at Premier Equine International Ltd, Originally started working in the warehouse, picking and packing stock to send out to customers, however I was asked to start covering the yard when the rider was away. I was then asked to start riding the horses and preparing for photo shoots. I compete myself now in ODE’s, Dressage, show jumping and showing on my own horses, recently winning a show jumping class at the regional finals at Arena UK. I have a driving pony who is just coming back into work as her foal has now been weaned.

Current role - description

I am currently working at Oakridge Quarter Horses, Collingham. This is dominantly a reining establishment however, trail, natural horsemanship and dressage take place here too. I have learnt to tack up with western tack and learnt how different the western way of riding is. I have also assisted with breeding; collecting semen, foaling and A.I services and appointments.

This job includes general yard work, mucking out shavings and straw beds, grooming, competition preparation, field maintenance, stud work, tacking up with western tack, bandaging, equine first aid.

This is a head girl role, however the manager of the establishment thinks that with my experience and my work ethic, I would suit a yard manager placement.


Contact Candidate

Login or purchase this resume contact details.