Cara Roberts

Posted on December 2, 2021 by Categories:
  • January 10, 2018
Phone Number
Current Country
United Kingdom
Date of birth
Job Type
Groom, Head Groom
Type of yard looking to work on
Dressage, Showjumping, Eventing, Hunt, Livery, Riding School
Relevant qualifications
Own your on horse
Do you have any pets
Accommodation required?
Upload your CV

CV Headline

Groom Available for Immediate Start

Relevant experience

I am 20 years old and have been working as a groom both nationally and internationally for the past 3 years.

Whilst studying at 6th form, I worked part time at a local riding school ( doing usual yard duties such as morning feeds, muck out, grooming, tacking up according to schedule, assisting riders with mounting, as well as taking groups of up to 10 children from the ages of 5-12 in stable management sessions and taking mounted rides of all abilities out on hacks for up to 2 hours on bridleways and beaches.

After leaving school, I lived in Australia for a year and worked as a groom for 3 months. I worked sole charge on a private producing and dressage yard with 3 grand prix dressage horses, broodmares and retired eventers. This included the sole charge of all the general yard duties as well as hacking and lunging and travelling to clinics and shows. The yard was a part of the AEBC-ESI family a team of equitational scientists that have spent decades investing in the research of equine cognition and training. Here, I learnt the valuable methods and information on the foundation of horse training in terms of how they learn and practicing the fundamentals of groundwork. I plan to eventually return to Australia to complete my Equitational Science Diploma with ESI.

I also worked at an Elite Performance Dressage/Livery yard (Llys Lew Dressage). I took sole charge for the care of 12 horses including all general yard duties, managing and monitoring feeds and medicines, rotating nets for the hay steamer, lunging, bathing, tack cleaning. I was also responsible for an apprentice groom who I guided on how to handle Performance Horses and how to work to industry standard.

I owned and loaned my own horses growing up and attended Pony Club. I am extremely confident with the handling of any kinds of horses and behaviours. The safety and well being of the hores are paramount to me. I am extremely time efficient and able to easily adapt to
your methods and schedule and always have everything presented to the highest of standards. I am also a very quick learner and keen to learn and absorb as much as possible. I am a happy and outgoing person and believe I am a fun person to have around the yard.

Current role - description

I recently came back from working and travelling Australia and I'm now looking for a full time job here in the UK.

Contact Candidate

Login or purchase this resume contact details.